Brew Review: Bud Light Platinum

I haven’t written a review in a while so I figured I better start back in with a bang.  I was out with a few friends one of which was an ABInBev rep, so of course I was offered the newest and greatest beer: Bud Light Platinum.  I saw all the commercials and, I’ll be honest, I was a bit intrigued.  So I tried one.

I comes in a very blue bottle and smells like a regular old Bud Light, Miller Lite, etc.  (If you don’t know what I’m talking about you aren’t missing anything.)  The only difference I noticed so far, was that the bottle said 6% (higher ABV the Bud and less calories, I can drink and be thin!).  I was worried, a “light” beer that is relatively higher in alcohol. My brain tried to stop me, “This is going to be horrible” it said.  This wasn’t going to be stopped.

I took the first sip, and I was surprised.  It tasted just like regular Bud Light.  They managed to put more alcohol and keep the same taste. Impressive.  I don’t know how they did it, but I was determined to find something in the taste that distinguished Bud Light Platinum from regular Bud Light.  Then it hit me…the aftertaste…very metallic.  Maybe that’s where they got the idea for “platinum”.  Either way, this turned out as I expected:

If you like Bud Light and want a little extra kick or no longer think Bud Ice is cool, this beer is for you.

If you like beer with taste, then don’t bother.

-Pyzocha

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 137 other followers