Beer Decision – July 30

For this week’s beer decision, I’ll be needing your help in deciding what bar I’ll be going to this Friday night.

The choice will be amongst four bars I haven’t been to, or haven’t been to in a long time.

This week’s competitors:

The Big Hunt

The Black Squirrel

Brickskeller

Meridian Pint

In order for a bar to be included in this election, it needs to have a good beer selection.  I’m not going to a bar where my options are 3 types of Bud and Miller Lite.  I want options.  Good options!

So, without further ado…

The Candidates

The Big Hunt

It’s been a long time since I’ve been to the Big Hunt, I’ve always enjoyed going though.  It’s got a wild, slightly beat up interior that gives it a great hole-in-the-wall vibe.  A fun comfortable place to visit.

The beer selection is great.  A variety on tap, and a bunch of bottles.  Not to mention they have Jolly Pumpkin right now, so that kinda forced Big Hunt to show up on the list.  Is it time for a return visit?

The Black Squirrel

This is a bar I haven’t had the pleasure of visiting yet.  I’ve heard nothing but good things, but as I’ve grown older, my tendency to travel into Adams Morgan has faded away.

This shining star on 18th street has made me reconsider my position on Adams Morgan.  They have a nice beer selection, and have that fun hole-in-the-wall vibe.  (did I mention I like the hole-in-the-wall vibe? I’m not a classy bar kinda guy)  Also, picklebacks?

Plus, recent beer additions are increasing my favoritism.  Allagash Black, and Oak-Aged Mad Hatter.  Maybe it’s time to make a trip into good ol’ Adams Morgan?

Brickskeller

Surprisingly, I’ve never been here.  I know, crazy, huh?

Brickskeller is known for their ridiculous beer selection.  It’s one of those, you name it – they’ve got it kind of deals.  Their beer list is frighteningly long (over 1000 beers), so finding something you like is almost guaranteed, however it may take a long time to find it.

Meridian Pint

This one’s a new comer.  Recently opening in Columbia Heights and receiving some very exciting reviews, Meridian Pint has tossed it’s name into the hat full of DC bars with great beer.

A fun feature to the place is their taps at the tables.  Personally, I’m not excited about it.  I like to get a different beer every time, so being stuck with the same beer for the night disappoints me.  But, the idea of not having to wait is enticing.

So… where should I go this Friday night?  (Polls close at 4:30 on Friday, July 30th)

Feel free to show your bar bias in the comments.

4 responses

  1. shintern1909

    You should note the following:

    1) Brickskeller lists a lot of beers on draft, but when you try to order one, you’re usually met with “Oh, that kegs been kicked.”

    2) If you are looking for some company on Friday night, Meridian Pint is a pretty central spot for half of this website’s contributors. Alas, they have a similar problem with kegs kicking faster than they are willing to reprint tap lists (I’ve talked to them about this, and they are trying to be more green by not printing out 30 copies of a new list every other day…) They have Old Rasputin on tap.

    July 27, 2010 at 3:20 pm

    • 1) I agree, and that’s very aggravating. There’s nothing worse than spending 10 minutes to figure out what you want to drink and then find out that it’s gone. Then starting the whole process all over again.
      2) It’s a Friday night and none of these places are too far from a Metro, or even out of DC. So, I’d hope that most of you would be willing to go wherever the public deems worthy.

      July 27, 2010 at 3:55 pm

  2. shintern1909

    If you go to Columbia Heights, you can also wonder to Room 11 for their guest tap (www.room11dc.com), which is usually pretty stellar.

    July 27, 2010 at 11:38 pm

  3. X

    Black Squirrel has a great vibe – one of the few place in Adam’s Morgan I actually enjoy. And they have great beer.

    July 28, 2010 at 8:20 am

Leave a Reply

