3xB: Flying Fish Exit 16

This week’s Big Bottle:  Flying Fish’s Exit 16


The Flying Fish Exit 16 is listed as a Wild Rice Double IPA. The double IPA side was very intriguing, but I wasn’t so sure about the wild rice. My fears proved to be true.

The beer was a pale yellow color, and appeared to be slightly cloudy. (I think it was bottle fermented)

It had a strong floral hop scent that was very promising.

The flavor was crisp, very hoppy, and actually quite bitter. The big issue I had with it is it lacked that syrupy malt flavor I would have expected in a double IPA. It tasted more like a pale ale than a double IPA. I’m guessing I should be blaming the wild rice?

Overall, it was a refreshing, enjoyable beer. I’d give it a 6.

I do enjoy Flying Fish’s naming convention as their bottles work their way along the New Jersey Turnpike.

Is exit 16 where they grow wild rice?

Is there wallonian rye at exit 6?

Are there oysters near exit 1?

Which beer is from the area that smells bad?

I’m just messing with you NJ!

Thanks Flying Fish!

One response

  1. X

    I actually thoroughly enjoyed the exit 16 – I counted the lack of maltiness as a plus, and I’d give it a 7.5

    But seriously, fuck New Jersey.

    August 8, 2010 at 7:25 pm

Leave a Reply

