Brew Review-Allagash Fluxus 2010

Hello, my name is Jeremy, and I’m a nibaholic.

Man, I am a sucker for cacao nibs.  I’m just going to get it out there in the open and admit it.

I love cacao nibs.

When they get thrown into a beer, I love it!  I feel like I’m having dessert and getting drunk at the same time.  Kinda like rum cake, or something.  Only more emphasis on the booze.

The Allagash Fluxus 2010 is one of those beers that throws in the cacao nibs.

Yeah, it’s an imperial stout first and foremost, but it’s got those cacao nibs.  How can you say no?  Well, I know I couldn’t.

I was at my local Whole Foods perusing the beer section.  Which, while I’m here, thank you P Street Whole Foods for moving your beer section to a more convenient and easy to maneuver area (but doesn’t it seem like a smaller selection now?). And rising head and shoulders above the other big bottles in the area was that bright white Allagash label.  Someone had tried to hide you behind a big bottle of Double Simcoe, but they didn’t account for the white label.

I pulled the bottle from the far back of the shelf, gently so as not to disturb its neighbors.  I read “FLUXUS 2010”, thought to myself I haven’t seen this before, read “ALLAGASH”, thought to myself this could be good, read Beer Brewed with Cacao Nibs, and bought it, no more thinking.

Now, the Fluxus is one of those beers that you’re supposed to cellar for a while and let it mature and become an extremely nuanced flavor delight in a few years.  However, when I purchase a beer like this, I turn into this guy:I can’t help it.  I’m an instant gratification kinda guy when it comes to an imperial stout with CACAO NIBS!

The beer’s glorious!  It pours like old motor oil with a light chocolaty lacing of head that slowly fades off and leaves a nice thick mocha aroma behind.

The Fluxus is huge, it beats you about the face with coffee and chocolate flavors, throws in a well-balanced bitter hoppiness and gives you a slight alcohol burn to let you know that the 10.3% mark on the bottle isn’t a joke.

If you can get this beer, buy it.  In fact, buy 2.  That way you can drink one right away, and let the other mature in your fancy beer cellar.

Rating:

3 responses

  1. Pingback: Brew Review-Allagash Fluxus 2010 « The J Street Beer Review @ My Beer Critic

  2. Pingback: 3xB: Goose Island Big John « The J Street Beer Review

  3. Pingback: 15. Chi Town – Windy City Wheat « Chi-Town tAles

Leave a Reply

