An Oral trip to Cream City

I had the good fortune to visit the Lakefront Brewery in Milwaukee a few years back, and I have been a casual supporter of theirs ever since.  It’s  a great tour if you’re in “the Good Land” (and trying to kick a nasty hangover from Summerfest).  Unfortunately, Lakefront brews are hard to find in the DC area, so I usually pick some up when I am traveling.  I cannot say where in case the man is reading this, but it’s a place that rhymes with brew dork witty.    I hear Philly liquor merchants carry them as well.  Anyways, on to the beer…

I had not had Lakefront’s Cream City pale ale, and since it is non-seasonal brew, I thought it about time.  The beer is named after the cream-colored breaks used to build Milwaukee.  I am not here to give you a history lesson so if you want to hear anymore about the minutia of 19th century Midwest Masonry, visit a guild (bring beer).  Cream City pale ale is somewhat aptly named as upon first pour it looks creamy as you get plenty of frothy white head.  I definitely picked up on the citrus flavors including the grapefruit.  This aspect of the beer reminded me a lot of Bell’s two-hearted IPA, but not as complex and floral.  The sweet malts take a back seat to the hops which are most noticeable during the crisp bitter finish of each sip.  This is I guess good for a pale ale. I wanted more and more until all I had left was backwash and head.  Cream City is good starter beer in this respect.  All in all, due the lack of flair and binge-enabling drinkability, cream city reminded more of an english pale ale than an American pale ale.  So if you get a chance, try it, but I wouldn’t go out my way to transport it across state lines.  Leave that stuff to Burt Reyolds and Jerry Reed.  Those guys could use the work these days.

Rating:

One response

  1. Shintern1909

    The Snowman, and I’m pretty sure Fred, too, passed on to the great truck stop in the sky. He no longer has to worry about Smokeys.

    On the other hand, Burt, aka America’s Sean Connery, will never die.

    September 16, 2010 at 12:48 pm

Leave a Reply

