Brew Review-Brooklyn Buzz Bomb

If you have a time machine, you could definitely get this beer two weeks ago at Afterwords in Dupont...

A couple of weeks ago (yes, I’m shit at posting on a regular basis), I stopped into Afterwords’ bar in Dupont (restaurant side Kramer’s Books) before heading to an alumni happy hour. While one might think that a book store is not the best place for a bar (I would agree after having a few and trying to read and write…), Afterwords has held a soft-spot in my heart since my first visit back in 2006. Of course, that was because they were serving Shiner on tap. Even though, they are no longer serving the greatest beer in Texas and thus the world, they consistently have a great rotating tap list – including one dedicated to Brooklyn Brewmasters Reserve.
Since they were out of the Founders Canadian Breakfast Stout, I decided to order the Brewmasters Reserve – the Brooklyn Buzz Bomb.

When poured, the beer arrives very cloudy with a lot of head, but the head and cloudiness dissipates quickly leaving a nice light gold color. After a couple of sniffs to get the aroma (just like several people in DC: when it rains, I instantly need Sudafed), I picked up on a very sweet honey smell with a touch of fruit – both of which were present in the taste. It had a very pleasant crisp aftertaste. The beer was neither too heavy nor too light, so when the body and taste are considered, I find it to be a good choice for a late-Summer/early-Fall or Spring brew.

Overall, the Brooklyn Buzz Bomb reminded me of the Saison Dupont, a beer that I enjoy in limited situations. If you can find it, it’s definitely worth a try.

Side Note: Afterwords seriously has a great tap list. You should go. Two and a half weeks ago, the list included: Great Lakes Oktoberfest, Goose Island Sofie & Maltilda, Founders Canadian Breakfast, several Abitas that I rarely see on tap, etc.

Side Note Pt 2: Next week, I’ll be back to the brews from God’s Country, Texas!

Side Note Pt 3: Who am I kidding, it’s probably going to be a couple of weeks…

2 responses

  1. Pingback: Beer Review-New Belgium Trippel « The J Street Beer Review

  2. Pingback: Brew Review-Brooklyn Cuvée Noire « The J Street Beer Review

Leave a Reply

