Brew Review-Mystery Beer

I was in the mood for a beer and have a few different beers in my refrigerator – Dogfish Head 60min IPA, Flying Dog Raging Bitch, Yuengling, Miller Lite (What? Don’t judge! I like to binge drink from time to time and it is cheap) and a few other randoms.  None of these were really calling out to me to drink them.  I then came across the bottle pictured to the left.

This one was quite interesting because it is label-less and I did not remember where it came from.  The cap merely had the letters “SBC” so it was not much help in deciphering what this beer could be.  Was this merely a bottle whose label was missing?  Was it a random leftover homebrew? (Possibly one of the yummy Moose Drool clones or possibly a horrible watermelon beer).  There was only one way to tell…I had to try this beer to see what it was.

I popped the cap off this beer and I could instantly know it was not one of the homebrews I mentioned.  It poured with a slight head and an amber color.  The aroma was distinctly Belgium (convenient that I poured it in a Belgium glass huh?).  Hmmm…the clues are starting to pile up, but still not sure what it is.

The taste was a letdown, it started off with a slight malt flavor and there wasn’t really much on the tongue after that.  There was an alcohol finish that the carbonation tries to hide the finish, but falls short.  I was hoping for the best, expecting the worst and got something in the middle.

So what was this mystery beer?  I am not positive, but I did remember a friend bringing over a “homebrew” from Shenandoah Brewing Company (hence the SBC on the cap). It’s clear that it’s some sort of Belgium, but I can’t be sure if it’s a double or a tripel.  Either way, the beer isn’t bad but it isn’t great either.

Leave a Reply

