Brew Review-New Belgium Trippel

Fact: Despite what one may think, pouring beer into a Shiner glass does not make it better.

On a recent trip back to Heaven on Earth (y’all probably call it Texas), I was able to stock up on beers that cannot be found in DC. Of course, half the beers I brought back were Shiner varieties, but I did manage to snag a few others, with New Belgium Trippel being one of those lucky few.

Over the past year, I’ve come to trust New Belgium even with beers that I normally do not care for, (I’m not a big wheat/white beer fan, so Mothership Wit was a bit of a stretch), so when I saw the Trippel for the first time, I figured I’d give it a whirl.

The beer has a nice golden color that turns a bit darker around the curves of the glass, small head, and a lot of carbonation as evidenced by the perpetual bubbles running through it from pour to finish. The aroma reminded me of the Brooklyn Buzz Bomb that I have previously reviewed – fruity with emphasis on citrus and a touch of coriander.

As for the actual putting-the-beer-in-your-mouth-and-drinking-it, the beer has a heavy, thick body, but it’s fairly smooth until the aftertaste lingers a bit too long. Despite the scent, the citrus flavoring is not overpowering, leaving this fizzy tasting beer with a good balanced mixture of flavors.

That said, I swear when I left the beer in my mouth to get a better idea of the tastes, the beer tasted like High Life as I swallowed it.

Overall, it’s a good beer that one should try, but I won’t be going out of my way again to get it, and neither should you.

Leave a Reply

