Brew Review-21st Amendment Fireside Chat

Jingle bells, jingle bells, jingle all the way!  Oh what fun it is to ride… IT’S STILL OCTOBER!!!

Come on brewers, we’ve gotta get all the way through November still.  The first day of Winter is actually the 21st of December.  That’s nearly 2 months away!

I’m all for trying to beat the other guy to the punch, but come on.  There are still Oktoberfests and pumpkin ales that need to be drank (drunk?).  Hell, I’ve got a marzen that hasn’t even been kegged yet (I know, I’m lazy, I figure it’ll be ready by next October).

Though it goes completely against most things I stand for (and let’s be honest, there aren’t a lot of things I stand for), I had to give this early winter brew a try.  After all, it has this old man smoking a pipe, sitting next to a fire talking to an elf on the packaging.  How cool is that?  My guess is it’s an allusion to FDR and his radio show, although, I doubt he ever talked to an elf.

The 21st Amendment Fireside Chat is basically what you would expect from a winter spiced ale.  If you’ve ever had a Harpoon Winter Warmer, and you enjoyed it… you’re gonna like this one.

It pours a deep chestnut (roasting on an open fire?) color, with a thick, creamy head that sticks around and leave a strong lacing on your glass.

The aroma is all spice.  There’s cinnamon and nutmeg, it has an almost piney character too.  It really is like stepping into a winter wonderland (sick of the Christmas puns yet?).

The flavor is sweet and malty, the cinnamon and nutmeg aromas carry through into the flavor.  It almost has a flavor of those anise Christmas cookies.

So, if you’re ready for winter ales, and you enjoy them spicy, this may be your perfect Christmas gift.  I just hope Santa brings me beer instead of coal this year.

Rating:

Leave a Reply

