New Year… New Beer

5… 4… 3… 2… 1… HAPPY NEW YEAR!

Goodbye 2010, hello 2011!

Many of us enjoy celebrating the new year.  It’s a time-honored tradition.  We also tend to drink too much, but that’s another conversation for another time.

The staple for most, if not all, New Year’s Celebrations is champagne (if you don’t count Dick Clark… man, I hope he retires soon).  That dry bubbly booze is how most people ring in the New Year.  I decided to go with something different this year.

Sam Adams and Weihenstephan got together and made a beer that was designed to sit alongside some of the best champagnes in town.  I’m not sure if this was their original intention or if they just happened to come up with this concoction.

I like to think they were hidden away in the bowels of the old Weihenstephan brewery mixing various ingredients into a large dark cauldron.  Jim Koch let out a large cackle and threw in more hops.  There was an explosion of bubbly beer.  It was tasted.  Everyone rejoiced.

The Infinium has been hyped for the last few months as the beer drinkers replacement for champagne.  And in all honesty, that’s all I needed to hear.  I’m tired of champagne.  I’ve never really enjoyed it.  It just doesn’t taste good to me.  I know it’s the go to drink for almost any celebration (and that totally baffles me).  It’s time to change!

So Infinium for New Year’s it is!

I had high hopes.  I imagined a delicious combination of malty hoppy goodness.  All I got was champagne.

Sure, it’s technically beer.  And I know you’re putting it out there as a replacement for champagne.  But does it have to taste like champagne?  It’s dry and EXTREMELY carbonated.  The carbonation made it impossible to pick out any beer-like flavors.  It made me sad.

So, for New Year’s Eve, I drank a beer that tasted like champagne, while I wished it tasted like beer.  At brunch on New Year’s Day… I had a Brooklyn Brown.  It tasted like a beer.

It’s a new year, and time to get started with new beer.  I may not have enjoyed the Infinium, but it’s all about trying new things.  This year I’ll be busy trying new beers.  I’m sure my cohorts here at J Street Beer Review will be doing the same.  Maybe we’ll like them, maybe we won’t.  We’ll do our best to be impartial (outright lie), and give you our thoughts on the joys of trying some of the world’s greatest beverages.

Here’s to a New Year and a lot of new beer!

-Tonzi

Leave a Reply

