Brew Review-Bluegrass Brewing Bourbon Barrel Stout

Up next in my “barrel-aged series” is the Bluegrass Brewing Co. Bourbon Barrel Stout.

This one I picked up because it said “Bourbon Barrel Stout”.  A can’t-miss, right?  Well, not exactly.

The BBS poured black, as I expected, but from there it kinda went downhill.  The aroma was all bourbon, which is fine, but there didn’t seem to be much else.  The flavor was malty, creamy and sweet with a light bourbon flavor.  Nothing surprising, nothing interesting.  It was actually pretty dull.  A Bourbon County Stout this is not.

-Tonzi

Rating:

5 responses

  1. Pingback: World Beers Review » Brew Review: Bluegrass Brewing Bourbon Barrel Stout « The J Street …

  2. Nick

    Something goes wrong with that beer when it’s bottled. It’s great at the brewery on tap and around town but is always underwhelming in bottles.

    March 3, 2011 at 3:31 pm

    • It’s too bad, really. This seems like a beer I would really love. It was a huge let-down. I’m glad you’ve mentioned that it’s good on tap. I won’t write it completely off. Thanks!

      March 3, 2011 at 3:56 pm

  3. VTJawo

    Did you try the Jefferson’s Reserve from BBC? I have found that to be a great barrel aged available year round. Its not as rich as Goose Island’s Bourbon County Stout, but still good.

    March 3, 2011 at 10:43 pm

    • I’ve heard good things about that beer, but I’ve never been able to find it. Apparently I’m not looking hard enough.

      March 4, 2011 at 9:08 am

Leave a Reply

