Brew Review-Dogfish Head World Wide Stout

To finish off my Fat Tuesday Extravaganza (which was really only 2 beers… whoooo), I went with the Dogfish World Wide Stout.

This beer remains one of my favorite stouts.  It’s delicious.  It’s complex.  It’s BOOZY.

The World Wide Stout pours like motor oil, with a light brown head that dissipates fairly quickly (it’s not very carbonated).  The aroma is a nice mixture of chocolate, raisins and nuts.  It’s like smelling a boozy trail mix.  The flavor is amazing.  There’s so much going on with this beer.  Chocolate, raisin, coffee, mild spices, it’s thick and creamy.  It finishes smooth and heavy with a HUGE boozy burn.  I guess the 18% tag on it means it has a lot of alcohol… maybe.

I always enjoy this beer.  Well, I always enjoy 1, and then I need to find a glass of water to survive the evening.

-Tonzi

Rating:

3 responses

  1. I wanted to like the world wide stout, but I will give it something, it does have lots of complex flavors, but it has an alcoholy taste which ruins the beer I believe. I didn’t read through the rest of your blog but I do however LOVE their chicory stout.

    March 9, 2011 at 4:22 pm

  2. Pingback: World Beers Review » Brew Review-Dogfish Head World Wide Stout « The J Street Beer Review

  3. Honker

    Good review. If I’m gonna drink an 18% beer, I prefer the WWS to the 120 Min IPA. The 120 is just too syrupy and sweet.

    March 11, 2011 at 9:19 am

Leave a Reply

