Brew Review-Weyerbacher Heresy

Last night I decided, “Hey, it’s Fat Tuesday, why don’t I drink 2 of the biggest beers I have and see if I can stay awake past 10pm?”

Note 1:  This would be a logical statement, if I were giving up beer for Lent
Note 2:  I did make it past 10… barely.

The Weyerbacher Heresy is an oak aged Imperial Stout.  So, you know where this is going. (I think for the remainder of the week I’ll stick with hoppy beers… these imperial stouts are not helping my waist size)

The Heresy is pitch black with a nice thick chocolate colored head.  The aroma is a sweet, chocolaty, boozy concoction.  The flavor is perfect for the style.  Creamy and sweet.  A little raisin flavor.  Mild mocha with a slight oaky finish.  A little alcohol burn so you don’t drink too many.  Overall, I was very happy with this beer.  Plus, around here, it’s fairly cheap.  Enjoy!

-Tonzi

Rating:

Leave a Reply

