T.G.I. Friday’s

I began seeing the commercials for T.G.I. Friday’s touting the use of Magic Hat #9 in some of their meals and I was ready to rip on Magic Hat for selling out to a chain.  Then I did some research and it is not Magic Hat selling out.  It was something much different: T.G.I. Friday’s is making themselves a craft beer hotspot!  Well, sort of.  They still have many crappy macro beers, but they are increasing the number of craft beers they carry.  Certain dishes will also be made with craft beer, including: a beer battered shrimp appetizer; entrees with steak, flounder, ribs and chicken either marinated or cooked with it; and a couple of beer-based desserts  (adults only).  While the selection varies by state, Friday’s will be serving some of the following beers: Harpoon IPA, Magic Hat #9, New Belgium Fat Tire, Goose Island Honkers Ale, Abita Amber, Alaskan IPA (Alaska only), Boulevard Wheat, and Uinta Cutthroat Ale (Utah only).  It would be great if each restaurant carried all of the aforementioned brews, but having any exposure to mass markets is great for craft beer.  Cheers to you T.G.I. Friday’s!

-Pyzocha

3 responses

  1. shintern1909

    Yea, one of these type of restaurants cooks with Shiner Bock (probably chili’s). It’s not awful, but I’d prefer just to have a bottle of Shiner while I eat their crappy food…

    May 11, 2011 at 12:09 am

    • pyzocha

      I’m not sure if I made it clear in the post, but they will also be selling bottles/drafts of the beers listed. So you would be able to enjoy one while eating their (crappy) food.

      May 11, 2011 at 7:02 am

  2. Pingback: The Rosslyn Bar Scene « The J Street Beer Review

Leave a Reply

