Brew Review: Epic Exponential Series Imperial IPA

Epic Exponential Series Imperial IPAI really can’t remember whether I picked this beer up at Whole Foods on P St NW or D’vines on 14th NW, and I wish I did because I want another. No matter where it was purchased, I remember thinking that I had heard good things about Epic and couldn’t pass up a quasi-special edition imperial IPA.

Based on previous reviews, I feel that readers have gotten to know my tastes pretty well; when it comes to IPAs, I prefer ones that have a good balance between the floral/citrus and bitterness – even if one hits you up front and the other follows. Even though the Epic Imperial IPA was a bit on the sweeter side, it did not disappoint, and I honestly think it’s one of the better tasting IPAs I’ve ever had. Thankfully, I decided to save this big bottle to share with a fellow J Streeter (Pyzocha) who also agreed that this beer is stellar.

The beer is a cloudy yellow color with a nice white head, and it has a nice floral sweet smell. The taste is absolutely divine – a nice floral sweetness with a touch of citrus that is followed with just enough bitterness to clean the palette. The beer’s body was creamy, full of flavor and had a small aftertaste.

All in all, get it! And tell me where you find it, so I can get some more…

— Shintern1909

2 responses

  1. X

    When I was at Rick’s (in Alexandria) last week, they had a bunch of Epic Evolution available, including 22s.

    May 25, 2011 at 7:20 pm

  2. Pingback: 3xB: Epic Imperial Stout « The J Street Beer Review

Leave a Reply

