Monday Morning Hangover: Redneck Tip on Fighting Mosquitoes

Busch knows it's clientele: Camo and Blaze Orange packaging to make sure that even drunk, you won't shoot the beer.

It’s the return of the Monday Morning Hangover and this edition’s beer related trick/tip is just in time for BBQ season.

While growing up in rural Texas, I often had somewhat random pieces of wisdom imparted on me. Some of it good; some of it bad, but today, I’m going to share with you one of the tricks that I was taught in my younger years but couldn’t really test until I was in college.

See, as a child, I spent most of my Fall weekends doing the stereotypical Texas activities. On Friday night, I’d go to watch my hometown’s high school football team lose yet again and then head out to the local hunting camp for the weekend. Needless to say, you meet a lot of down-to-earth, friendly people. Not only will they give you suggestions on where to find deer, help you to field-dress and process it, and get up early to ensure you go out with a good hearty breakfast, they also share little tid-bits of vital information, one of which was a way to be less attractive to mosquitoes.  Now, I can’t remember who told me this trick, but it has been tested a la Mythbusters style and proven to at least be a bit true:

Drinking Busch Light keeps mosquitoes away. Don’t ask me why this is true (best guess, the beer is so awful that mosquitos don’t even want to have it second-hand), but empirical evidence did validate it. On a camping trip during college, I decided to test this idea. While everyone else was drinking Bud Light/Coors Light/Miller Lite, I reached for my tall boys of Busch Light. The next day, I did have a few mosquito bites but no where near the number of my fellow campers. Since then, I’ve always grabbed at least a sixer of Busch Light when heading out into the woods.

Anyone out there hear about this trick?

— Shintern1909

Leave a Reply

