Savor Beer Week Event Review: Magic Hat Steal the Pint Night at Atomic

Magic Hat #9
Sometimes a simple promotion is all it takes to sell beer.

Magic Hat does not brew products that cater to the majority of people excited about SAVOR week, but they certainly piqued the interest of many more casual drinkers Wednesday night.

Pint after pint of Magic Hat was poured at Atomic Billiards during their special promotion of being able to “steal” the pint glass after ordering. Two options were available from the Vermont based brewery: The expected #9 apricot beer and Wacko, their summer seasonal.

As happy as I was to see so many people ordering craft beer I’m not sure what to make of this promotion. Having had Wacko for the first time since the morning of my college graduation I was reminded just how tasteless it is. The #9, which I have not had in ages, seemed full of flavor after the listlessness of Wacko.

Atomic was full of life last night and I hope that it continues to be that way. Since they have Oberon and Two Hearted on draft they certainly deserve a lot of business in Cleveland Park.

-JBass

One response

  1. This event was basically on the other side of the city for me, but I really should have gone in retrospect. Of course, I am definitely a sucker for a free glass. I can’t say I like Wacko all that much. It’s sort of like the Agave Wheat I had last night. Throw a strange ingredient in there and hope that people think its out there enough to buy.

    June 2, 2011 at 10:39 am

Leave a Reply

