Shake Shack: It Only Takes One Guy, not Five, to Make a Great Burger

I love Five Guys to death. When one opened only 5 minutes from my college campus I went more times then I can count.

After having Shake Shack I doubt I can ever go back.

Everything at Shake Shack is tremendous, starting with the shakes. My favorite is the black and white, which is rich, thick, and has a bit of a peanut butter taste. They are absolutely perfect for a DC summer cool down.

The fries are simply amazing. Unlike many places, they choose to do them crinkle cut allowing them to come out crispy and delicious. Taking my co-worker there for the first time she nearly finished her order on the walk back to the office.

Burgers are sensational and cooShack Stackked medium unless specified. The patties are juicy and practically melt in your mouth. Easily the biggest surprise to me is the mushroom burger I’ve enjoyed as part of the Shack Stack, which is a cheeseburger topped with a mushroom burger. It is a fried Portobello stuffed with munster and cheddar cheese that explode out after biting in. I’ve never even thought to order a mushroom burger but this has opened my eyes.

I have to admit that I had never had or understood the Chicago style hot dog. Curiosity got the best of me and I tried the Shack-cago Dog that is topped with pickles, relish, onion, tomato, cucumber, mustard, salt, and pepper. There is some nice spice to it, but the hot dog is pretty lost in the sea of veggies.

Most importantly Shake Shack serves beer, and good beer at that! They make good use of their 2 taps serving ShackMeister, a beer brewed for them by Brooklyn Brewery that seems to be a pale ale with just a bit of bitterness at the end, as well as a rotating seasonal which is currently Flying Dog’s Old Scratch Amber. If for some reason you want something macro they offer Amstel and Budweiser in bottles. There is also an Abita tap handle but don’t be fooled as it pours root beer.

My biggest piece of advice to anyone who goes during lunch: Don’t be surprised if you are slightly less productive at work afterwards, as Shake Shack leads to a very strong food coma.

-JBass

2 responses

  1. The Wookie

    My NYC office is right by the Shake Shack’s original location. The lines at lunch in the summer can be so long at times that we’ll send interns out around 10 or 11am to wait in line for an hour or two and then have them call us when they get close to ordering. Glad to hear the haven’t lost any quality while driving their concept down 95 to DC and that they’re serving beer too … that’s the best part!

    June 9, 2011 at 4:26 pm

  2. My only concern about the shake is that I think the “bit” of peanut butter is a glitch, not a feature. Guessing it’s probably a poorly rinsed mixing vessel. I’ll try to get over there if/when the hype ever dies down.

    June 9, 2011 at 4:32 pm

Leave a Reply

