Brew Review: Surly Bender

Surly Bender

I’m sure that I’m not the only one out there who has a bucket list for beer. SAVOR week was obviously a way to knockout a good chunk of that, but of course there’s always more to try. In my eyes there was one brewery clearly on top of my list: Surly. Luckily I was able to procure 3 different cans at Connecticut Wine and Liquors, which is my go to store for harder to find beers.

Bender pours a deep brown with minimal head. The aroma is subtle with oats slightly dominant and a small bit of vanilla. Taste starts out with a somewhat light flavor of oat and leads to a little bit of vanilla on the finish. As it warmed I started to get a bit of coffee flavor at the end. Bender is very very light on the mouth.

Overall it’s a good beer and had I not had such high expectations I would probably have been satisfied. I’d give it 1.5 on our scale and in an effort to grade the beer and not the hype I’m going to round up.

Since it was a good brown ale I still believe the Coffee Bender and Furious will live up to my lofty expectations.

-JBass

2-Good

Leave a Reply

