Brew Review: BrewDog/Stone Bashah

I was at Pizzaria Paradiso in Dupont Circle and saw that BrewDog and Stone collaborated to make a Black Double Belgian IPA called the Bashah (that’s a mouthful).  Not only did they have it, but it was on tap.  Waiting for it I was practically drooling: I love Belgian IPAs, I had never tried a Black Belgian IPA and this was a double (twice the fun).  I had to have it! But would it live up to my high expectations?

This 8.6% ABV brew poured a deep opaque black with a small toasted marshmallow colored head. The aroma was not overpowering toasted malt was the dominant smell followed by a typical hop aroma.  With the first sip the toasted malt became even more apparent but in a much more complex way.  There was a bit of smokiness and spice (couldn’t quite put my finger on which ones, but tasty none-the-less).  The hops followed, and unlike other brews made by Stone and BrewDog they were not overpowering.  They were a perfect compliment to the maltiness.  The finish was slightly sweet and fruity.

So did this beer live up to my expectations? Absolutely!  I had my first couple sips and said to Boardwalk, “This is probably the best Black IPA I’ve had.”  I’d recommend going to Pizzaria Paradiso to try this ASAP!

-Pyzocha

One response

  1. Glad you like it. I’m in the minority here I think. I’ve had it multiple times, just can’t get into it at all. The fact that it keeps reappearing places like ChurchKey and Pizza P tells me that it must be a pretty good beer, but it tastes burned and bland to me. Blech.

    July 28, 2011 at 11:28 am

Leave a Reply

