Brew Review: Dogfish Head 75 Minute IPA

75 MinuteI was out on my usual Friday after-lunch beer browsing when I came across the Dogfish Head 75 Minute IPA.  Like most, I’ve had the 60, 90 and 120 minute IPAs, but I’d never seen the 75 before.  I heard this was a brew that typically stayed at the brew pubs.  Naturally, I had to give it a try.

Without even looking a the description I paid for it and went on my merry way.  Once I got home I took a look and saw that it is a blend of the 90 Minute and 60 Minute with maple syrup added.  Maple syrup in an IPA? I was worried.

It poured, as a typical IPA would, with a slight amber color.  As you can see from the picture, it had quite a head on the pour (no it was not a bad pour by me!!).  I attribute this to being naturally carbonated in the bottle.

The aroma was hoppy, similar to the 90 minute, but there was a slight sweet maple finish that blended quite well.  My worries started to fade with the aroma, so I took a sip.  Overall a mellow hop flavor started sweet, then progressed to a slightly bitter hop and back to the sweet maple flavor.  The flavors melted together perfectly and could barely tell this was 7.5% beer.

This beer is very solid, but in limited supply, so if you see it get it!  Dogfish sells it on their website, but make sure they deliver to your state before ordering.

-pyzocha

Leave a Reply

