Brew Review: Florida Beer Swamp Ape IPA

I hadn’t tried any beers from Florida Beer so when I saw this pretty big (10%) IPA I figured I’d give it a try.

As you can see from the picture, it poured to a clear-ish light amber color with little to no head.  I gave it a smell…almost nothing, slight malt and even less bitter hop aroma.  I figured my nose was just playing tricks on me because there was no way a high percentage IPA would have this little aroma.  So I gave it to a friend to smell and he didn’t get anything either.  Not a good start.

The taste followed suit with the aroma and was a bit of a let down.  It started with a decently sweet hop flavor that progressed into a bland malt middle and a slightly bitter hop finish.

I was not very impressed with the first beer from Florida Beer.  The only thing I can say that it had going for it is that when it was cold it hid the alcohol well, but even that left once it started to warm up.

This is at best a mediocre IPA, but I’ll give it one hop out of three because it’s strong…I like strong beers.

-pyzocha

Leave a Reply

