Adventures in Beer Drinking: Gainesville, FL edition

Most of the contributors to this site can verify, I’m not the most adventuresome beer drinker. Don’t get me wrong, I’ll peruse beer menus and look for something new to try, but if either nothing grabs me or I’m being lazy, my drink of choice is Shiner Bock, which is readily available at most beer-oriented bars in the District.

Unfortunately for me, this is not true for Gainesville, FL – home of the University of Florida, Shintern’s Mom, and, until this past weekend, most of Shintern’s furniture and possessions. Without my fallback favorite beer being served, my epic-sized moving weekend was not looking good, but then I had dinner at Satchel’s Pizza, a local Communist structured restaurant (it is owned by the employees) that served the following draft beers: Sam Adams Seasonal, Widmer Bros Hefe, Stella Artois, and Swamphead Big Nose IPA, a locally brewed beer.

Naturally, I went with the local and was not disappointed. The beer had a nice hops flavor (Shintern’s mother took one sniff and knew she wouldn’t like it) and great finish. (The beer won the 2010 Best Florida Beer). It was perfect for the oppressive heat and humidity. I couldn’t wait to find more beers by the same brewery.

Sadly, I’m still waiting because my weekend drinking, aside from the few Shiners in the fridge, went downhill from there. First, there was the next restaurant, which offered Michelob Ultra (Anyone else realize that Lance Armstrong started endorsing this beer AND has been losing the Tour in the same month? Only logical conclusion – Mich Ultra is for losers), Budweiser/Bud Diesel/Bud Heavy, Bud Light, Yuengling, Dos Equis Amber, and LANDSHARK! How do you round out your beer list with LANDSHARK?!? All they needed was to have ShockTop as an import/premium for me to have left for greener pastures.

Second, as proof of an up-coming post, my cousin’s husband had a well stocked fridge of beer for those that were helping to load the U-haul, and by well-stocked, I mean a twelve pack of Bud Light Lime. Well, as the old saying goes, “When in Jacksonville, FL…” Perhaps it was the high heat and humidity, maybe it was the sheer amount of hauling and truck-packing-organizing that was required throughout the day, but more than likely it was because I had zero alternatives – the Bud Light Lime seemed to hit the spot. The lime offered enough zest and flavor that it created a refreshing change of pace from the usual Bud Light. Also it’s Great Recession-friendly; as Shintern’s cousin’s husband put it: “It tastes like Corona but is a couple of dollars less, and you don’t have to buy the lime.”

That said, drinking Bud Light Lime is still like riding a Vespa – could be fun to do, but you don’t want your friends seeing you do it… Or you could just combine the two and get:

Offspring of Riding a Vespa and Drinking Bud Light Lime

Bud Light Lime bandwagon

3 responses

  1. Let it be known that 1) Shintern has ridden on (the back of) a Vespa 2) said Shintern loved every minute of it

    Also– just so you know, Mr. Shintern, not all Vespas are light green.

    August 3, 2010 at 8:54 am

  2. Shintern1909

    Much like drinking a Bud Light Lime, I cannot deny doing this. It was fun and enjoyable, I just don’t want my friends to see me doing it.

    August 3, 2010 at 9:11 am

  3. Vespista

    Fair enough. By the way, I had my first Bud Light Lime while floating down a river in a canoe in the Ozarks last weekend with my stepsiblings. It was enjoyable, though I do not think I would go as far as to equate the joy of Bud Light Lime in itself to a Vespa ride. Though I suppose, to each his own.

    August 13, 2010 at 9:05 pm

Leave a Reply

